Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Episode 118: Meet Jim, The Sober Wine Guy
0:00
-56:30

Episode 118: Meet Jim, The Sober Wine Guy

Jim Coley is the Kansas City Wine Expert Who Doesn't Drink

Podcast Contents

  1. 00:00 - 03:32 INTRO

  2. 03:42 - 7:03 LIVE: Machine Hum & Mayonnaise at Sand Hill Kitchen

  3. 7:13 - 40:46 INTERVIEW: Jim Coley, the Sober Wine Guy ÇaVa, KC, MO

  4. 46:40 - 48:35 REVIEWS: Miyako House, Tall John’s, Contrada & Bodega

  5. 51:44 - 53:40 SPECIAL GUEST: The Pizza Guy is Here!

  6. 53:41 - 56:45 OUTRO


DUKE’S MAYONNAISE & SAND HILL KITCHEN: I went to Sand Hill Kitchen for lunch the other day with my friend Rick, and BOY HOWDY I sure do love their food, and the folks who make it. Chef Jamie Wade is my friend and one of my favorite people in the food biz, and her crew is just the best!

More pictures available on Facebook

Rick got the classic, award winning, fried chicken sandwich, and I got a GIANT awesome Rueben, that I ate for three meals! Not kidding. This food is huge and scrumptious, and some of the tastiest grub in WNC in my opinion.

May be an image of 4 people and text
More pictures available on Facebook

While we to Sand Hill to eat, I had more than lunch on my mind! I was there to talk with Chef Jamie Wade about Duke's Mayonnaise, which she figures she uses more of than just about any other restaurant in town! She even made a big sign that lists allll of the things on her menu that have Duke’s on ‘em or in ‘em!

May be an image of chicken sandwich and text
More pictures available on Facebook

She even busted out some deviled eggs, chicken salad, and her award winning fried chicken sandwich w/ pimento cheese for the pictures, then she sent me and Rick home with this feast!

May be an image of club sandwich, rye bread and chicken sandwich
More pictures available on Facebook

I ate it for days, shared it with Dawn, and we both loved every ding-dang bite of it! Gah. Chef Jamie’s food frickin’ rules. If you’re already familiar with it, you know how awesome it is, and I think you’ll agree with her, and me, that Duke’s makes a difference! If you’re not familiar with the menu at Sand Hill Kitchen, then get on over and get on in! You won’t be disappointed, or hungry, if you do!

May be an image of food and text
More pictures available on Facebook

PS - I’m not getting paid by Duke’s for all this love I’ve been showing them lately, but it has been part of my successful effort to bring their mascot, Tubby, to Asheville! 🙂 😉❤️

May be an image of text that says 'Fo!! WE GOT HIM! Duke's ÛMYNAISE TUBBY. THE "UNHINGED" MASCOT OF DUKE'S MAYONNAISE WILL BE APPEARING IN PACK PARK, DOWNTOWN ASHEVILLE AUGUST 3RD. 2023 FROM 9AM- 11AM. PUT YOUR MAYONNAISEATIN' PANTS ON AND BE THERE!'

MIYAKO HOUSE: I popped into Miyako House for lunch the other day with my friend Will, and we both enjoyed our sushi rolls very much! He got surf & turf, I got the “Snow White,” which is a cooked roll with spicy crab & avocado w/ white tuna, scallion, eel sauce & roe on top. It was smooth, tender, delicate & super yummy.

May be an image of roe, sashimi and sushi
More pictures available on Facebook

While I didn’t try Will’s roll, it looked delicious, and he crushed it! It was a spicy chopped tuna (raw) roll, topped with seared rare steak, jalapeño wheels & wasabi sauce. Sounds pretty frickin’ hot! I’ll get it next time.

May be an image of roe, sushi and sashimi
More pictures available on Facebook

I’m going to grab lunch at Miyako House more often, and maybe eat my way through a couple sections of their menu! Stay tuned.


SNACK & SAUNTER: Dawn & I went on a “snack and saunter” for her birthday last week, and it was a very Asheville experience! We started at Tall John's in Montford with some shrimps and a salad, plus drinks. The food, beverages, atmosphere & service at Tall John’s is top notch, and this night was no exception. Next we went to Contrada on Wall Street, which is part of Cucina 24, and makes excellent pizza, which is what we had. Loved it. Finally we walked to La Bodega by Cúrate where we had a little bit of ham & cheese, with two more drinks. My drinks were all n/a of course, and very tasty.

More pictures available on Facebook

Dawn & I still love downtown Asheville! We met each other when we were living in Chicago, so this city still feels small to us, in the best sense of that word. Good times! Great food! High recommends for downtown Asheville, NC. ❤️


THE PIZZA GUY IS HERE! Daaaang, Y’all… pizza genius, Drew Peterson from Asheville Pizza South stopped by with his pizza of the month for July: The Saucy Hawg! It’s a “Carolina-Style” pizza, with pulled pork, bbq sauce, and cheese, then slaw & pickled jalapeños are added after it comes out the oven. I sat down to have a slice, and before I knew it, I had powered down half the pie. It’s. So. Frickin’. Goooood!!!

May be an image of pizza
More pictures available on Facebook

This Saucy Hawg pizza marks the one-year anniversary of Drew bringing his specialty Pizza of The Month to my house! We started in July 2022, with a Saucy Hawg, and he’s brought it back this year, as his new traditional July Pie! By the time you read this newsletter, July might already be over, so be sure to follow Drew and Asheville Pizza South on Instagram and Facebook to get the heads up on his pie of the month, every month!


— end —

0 Comments
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food