Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Episode 124: The Chef Has a Day Off
2
0:00
-51:34

Episode 124: The Chef Has a Day Off

Also: Oysters, Eggs, Chicken, Shrooms, Off-menu Burgers & A Rachel
2

Podcast Contents

Talkin' about life in the restaurant biz, with a 30 year veteran of professional kitchens, my friend & my Chef of the Year winner from 2022, as well as my two-time Burger of the Year winner, Chef Tom LaFauci from Twisted Laurel Downtown Asheville.

  1. 00:00 - 10:10 INTRO: West Asheville: Neng Jr’s & Leo’s House of Thirst Reviews

  2. 10:20 - 39:55 INTERVIEW: Chef Tom LaFauci, from Twisted Laurel AVL

  3. 40:05 - 45:10 NEW! Unsolicited Advice: The Signature Dish

  4. 47:00 - 51:30 City Bakery North Review


LEO’S HOUSE OF THIRST: Dawn and I drove on over to Leo's House of Thirst for dinner last week, and had an excellent meal!

No photo description available.
More pictures available on ace

We started with a 1/2 dozen oysters with Lambrusco mignonette & chili oil, and deviled eggs with smoked honey & bacon. Super delish.

May be an image of egg yolk
More pictures available on Facebook…

Then we ordered a 1/2 roasted chicken with chanterelles & and little gem salad.

May be an image of ossobuco and shiitake mushrooms
More pictures available on Facebook…

We sat outdoors. It was really nice. Service was great. The food was frickin’ devine. That chicken was 100% bomb. ❤️🐓🍗

- Listen to my whole review on the podcast above! -


TWISTED LAUREL DOWNTOWN ASHEVILLE: Chef Tom LaFauci from Twisted Laurel Downtown Asheville is a Burger Boss in my opinion, and he’s been using me as a (very willing) guinea pig for some of his experimental burgers!

May be an image of ossobuco
I’m actually not allowed to tell you about this steak burger. Shhhhh! 🤫 I didn’t say a thing.

The most popular post I’ve made on social media lately was a single picture of Chef Tom’s steak burger on mashed taters with asparagus & demi-glace. It’s not on his menu, and according to him it won’t be any time soon. I might be one of the very few people on planet Earth who has even tried it. It was insanely good! I’m sorry.

The Bleu Beast

Another experimental off -menu burger Chef Tom tested out on me was a beautiful beast that was grilled on top of a bed of crispy onions, and topped with bleu cheese crumbles. It was a frickin’ umami bomb, and even though I already ate dinner today, just thinking about it right now is making me feel phantom hungry pangs! Again, sorry it’s not available.

Smash Burger of the Year!

I’m sure you’re hating me right now, because I ate amazing burgers that are more myth than reality, but don’t hate me too hard, my fellow burger-fiends, because Chef Tom’s two award winners are currently on his menu, and according to him, they always will be! Get his Smash Burger for lunch, then go back and get his “JC burger” for dinner.

May be an image of burger
The JC Burger might not look fancy, but trust me, it’s fancy, and effing delicious!

- Listen to my whole interview with Chef Tom on the podcast above! -


CITY BAKERY N. CHARLOTTE STREET: I got a very nice pressed “Rachel” sandwich at City Bakery on N. Charlotte Street last week, as well as a sweet, delicious apple fritter and coffee of course!

May be an image of club sandwich and rye bread
More pictures available on Facebook…

The Rachel was piping hot when it came out of the kitchen, and was very crispy and buttery in the outside. I loved it! ❤️

May be an image of babka, tart and cinnamon roll
More pictures available on Facebook…

- Listen to my whole review of this meal on the podcast above! -


BREAKING NEWS: Seems like something called “Laila Asheville Indian Cuisine” is going into the space where Holeman & Finch was.

May be an image of twilight

Can you name all of the restaurants that have occupied that space?

Mo Daddy’s, Baja Kitchen, 7 Sows, Local Provisions, The Continental, Holeman & Finch… am I forgetting any?

Leave a comment


— end —

2 Comments
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food