Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Episode 126: Not Another New York Chef
0:00
-56:21

Episode 126: Not Another New York Chef

Plus Food Reviews Out the Wahzoo

Podcast Contents

Talkin' about three new restaurants and two old ones with one of my favorite people and one of the best chefs in Asheville, Chef Jacob “7 Days a Week” Sessoms from Table, All Day Darling, and the soon-to-open restaurants of the Radical Hotel in the River Arts District.

  1. 00:00 - 7:14 INTRO: Corrections, Chow Chow, Darë Vegan Cheese, Botanist & Barrel, Downtown is Waiting…

  2. 7:24 - 37:16 INTERVIEW: Chef Jacob Sessoms from Table, All Day Darling & The Radical Hotel

  3. 38:07 - 50:30 REVIEWS: 67 Biltmore Ave, Buxton Hall BBQ, All Souls Pizza,

  4. 47:00 - 51:30 OUTRO: Rebel Burger & U Joint WAVL


67 BILTMORE AVE I went to 67 Biltmore Downtown Eatery + Catering for lunch the other day and got 1/2 a fried chicken “shazamwich,” with chips and a pickle and it was exactly what I wanted. I ate every molecule of food in wire basket it came served in, and it was the the perfect amount of food!

May be an image of chicken sandwich

Thanks, 67, you’ve been one of my all-time fave local spots since way back when you were Laurey's Cafe and Catering, and to this day, every time I choose to eat there, I choose joy! <3


BUXTON HALL BARBECUE: Errrbody… I love food. Gimme gimme giant piles of food. Oh, did you also want food? I’m sorry. I. Ate. It. All. Or at least it felt that way the last time I went to Buxton Hall Barbecue for lunch! I ordered the combo plate with super moist and tender pulled pork, with very flavorful and delicate chopped brisket, tangy collards, dank AF meat gravy (aka hog hash) ‘n’ rice, plus house made pickles & fresh watermelon w/ bbq rub. Good lord. It was more food than I expected!

May be an image of collard greens and text

Plus Chef Nick sent me a plate of shishito peppers with pepper jelly, grilled lime, and Alabama sauce! Holy moly.

May be an image of food

I ate until I literally died, then I came back to life, got a large to-go box, and brought the rest of it home with me, where I’ve pretty much been eating it ever since! 😂😂😂 So, if you’re wondering where all the food went, it went in my stomach. Thanks, Buxton! I lervvvv you! ❤️❤️❤️

May be an image of 2 people and collard greens

ALL SOULS PIZZA: I went to All Souls Pizza with my fam, and it was great, as always! We got some salt & pepper shrimp, a couple of great pies. It’s our neighborhood restaurant, and we love it!

May be an image of pizza
May be an image of pizza and morel mushroom

Yes, the pizza was great, but those salt 'n' pepper shrimps were divine. Battered and deep-fried in the shell, they were as crunchy as could be on the outside, and sweet, tender, moist and meaty on the inside. All that green stuff in the bowl was tasty AF as well! We love All Souls!

May be an image of shrimp

REBEL BURGER: Alright, y’all… I tried every item from the limited menu of the brand new Rebel Burger AVL! They offer three things: A burger, a bowl, and French fries. I ordered all three.

May be an image of burger and text that says 'REBEL- BURGE REBEL- BURGER BURGER buchi buc REBEL* BURGER'

The burger was fantastic! A nice combination of classic & unique flavors. I ate half, and was going to save the second half for lunch the next day, but ended up eating the whole thing, because it was so dang good!

May be an image of chicken sandwich and burger

The bowl was excellent too. Very fresh and delicious, with punchy flavors and a lot of crunch, and a nice variety of textures with the black rice and cashews. The fries were excellent too, and remained crispy even after they had cooled a bit. 🙂 The two owners asked for my feedback and I suggested that they add a sweet / dessert option to their menu. Something small, made with chocolate or salted caramel would have been perfect! They commented on Facebook that they plan to do just that, as well as adding a few other items!

Give Rebel Burger a try, Asheville! The prices were right, and the food was very delicious! 🍔🥙⚡️


UNIVERSAL JOINT: I went to Universal Joint in West Asheville with my LEGENDARY friend Scott the other day, and engorged myself on the Steinbeck burger and tater tots. Yom!

May be an image of 1 person

The Steinbeck is a big ol’ burger, piled high with pimento cheese, pickled jalapeño wheels, and bacon. It also comes with LTO, and I took of the O. The Steinbeck is my usual go-to burger at U-joint, and Scott is my usual go-to lunch partner there as well, and it had been a long time since I’d seen Scott, so it was a pretty much a super perfect day! ❤️🍔🥔


Share

— end —

0 Comments
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food