Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Episode 127: Body & Mind, Food & Beverage
0:00
-54:49

Episode 127: Body & Mind, Food & Beverage

Plus: Arrre You RRReady to RRRUMBLLLE? I am not. Or maybe I am. I can't decide.

Podcast Contents

Talkin’ about feelin’ good about the things we put in our bodies, with Wren Lizabeth from Mertails Elixirs and the NOHM Collective! Also, musing about food competitions out loud to myself, plus Unsolicited Advice, TWO Pizza Guys, and some old breaking news.

  1. 00:00 - 2:30 INTRO Should We Do a Rib Rumble?

  2. 2:40 - 36:00 INTERVIEW: Wren Lizabeth from Mertails Elixirs & NOHM Collective

  3. 36:50 - 45:45 Unsolicited Advice

  4. 45:46 - 48:10 The Pizza Guy is Here!

  5. 48:20 - 50:30 Downtown Farmers’ Market

  6. 50:40 - 54:49 Outro & Breaking News


RRRIB RRRUMBLE? I miss the food competitions we used to have in Asheville. From big events like the Wing War and the Battle of the Burger produced by All American Food Fights, to smaller events like the WNC Pizza Fight and Punk Rock Hotdogs, co-produced by Shay Brown and myself.

No photo description available.
Bear’s Smokehouse BBQ

I miss the build-up to competition day, I miss the zombie hoards of over-stuffed eaters engorging themselves on a dozen different versions of the same thing, I miss the feeding frenzy peppered with exclamations of love and hate at the judges’ table, and I miss the excitement when the winners are announced and the cheesy prizes are given out!

May be an image of ossobuco and steak
La Bodega by Cúrate

The fun & fanfare of a good old fashioned food throw down has been sorely lacking as of late in my opinion, and I sometimes day dream about bringing food competitions back. (And by “sometimes,” I mean “constantly.”) But then I always come up against the same issue, the same brick wall, the one thing holding me back: STRESS.

May be an image of ossobuco
Little D’s

The stress involved with organizing and producing a successful food-centric event is more than this old man can take anymore, and might literally might make me loose my mind or even tip over dead.

All that being said, I’m thinking about doing a Rib Rumble. And here’s why… it ain’t complicated…

No photo description available.
Benne on Eagle

Ribs are real good.

I’ve been eating a LOT of really great ones lately too, in several different styles, from the basic, but perfectly prepared baby back ribs from Bear’s Smokehouse BBQ and the 100% wood smoked spare ribs from Doc Brown’s BBQ, to the super-fancy “costillas” from La Bodega, the sorghum apple ribs on a cornmeal hoecake from Benne on Eagle, and the peach BBQ pork ribs from Little D’s! There are currently a LOT of great ribs in the town, many I which I have yet to try! I need them all. I want you to try them all. I want to do a Rib Rumble. Even if I end up with emotional scars, physical bruises, BBQ sauce all over me, and both feet in the grave. Maybe.

No photo description available.
Doc Brown’s BBQ

I’m on the fence about this Rib Rumble idea. I guess public interest could be a driving factor for me. If the restaurants are into it, and the eaters show an outpouring of support for it, then maybe I’ll be ready to rumble. Let me know hat you think. Are you down for a Rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrib Rrrrrrrrrrrrrumble? (Saying it like that helps get me more pumped.) Let me know your thoughts in the comments, on social media, and in person if we talk.

Leave a comment


BIRTHDAY PIZZA! My mom turned 83 last Month, and when I asked her what she wanted for her birthday, she said “pizza!” I still hadn’t had the September pizza of the month from Asheville Pizza South yet, so I asked Drew if he would be into bringing one by, and I ordered three more online.

May be an image of 1 person, pizza and crumbcake

The pizza of the month for September was an amazing Cuban style pizza with a Swiss cheese béchamel base, ham, pulled mojo pork, pickles, more Swiss cheese, and Dijon mustard! It was incredible and my whole family loved it! I recommend that you try it this month. (Shout out to Drew’s friend Chef Marissa who’s idea it was!) My sister ordered an old favorite from their menu called “Shear Delight,” that has a sesame seed crust, walnuts, and pesto.

My mom wanted one with artichoke hearts and mushrooms, so I ordered one of those for her, and I got a plain cheese pizza for myself! All of the pizzas were awesome!!! Everyone in my family really loved them, and Asheville Pizza South has become a true tradition in my house!

May be an image of dessert

Chef Drew is a true pizza genius in my opinion. Get the Pizza of the Month every month if you can, or just try the other specialty pies on the menu, or build your own! It’s alllll goooood. 🍕🤘🔥 PS - Drew also brought my mom a piece of his really delicious cheesecake! My mom said to me later, "He's a good boy." ❤


Share

— end —

0 Comments
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food