Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Episode 130: A Friend of the Devils Foot
0:00
-57:48

Episode 130: A Friend of the Devils Foot

Plus: Stoobie Awards Preview, Sushi, Sandwiches & Beware The Chicken Curry & Seafood Scam
Transcript

No transcript...

Podcast Contents

Talkin’ about soda pop and other drinkable delights with Ben Colvin from Devil’s Foot Beverage Company & Friend of The Devil Craft Cocktails, plus …

00:00 - 6:50 INTRO: Stoobies & Such

6:59 - 29:30 INTERVIEW: Ben Colvin w/ Devil’s Foot

29:40- 34:10 UNSOLICITED ADVICE: The Chicken Curry & Seafood Scam

34:20 - 47:24 MESSAGES FROM THE FOLLOWERS: Magic Mushrooms & More

47:34 - 55:18 DON’T DO DRUGS: Mushroom Pilot & Gummy O.D.

51:13 - 56:50 REVIEWS: Little Bee Thai (chicken curry), Mother Bakery (omelette), Session Café (two sandos), Miyako House & Masago Facts

56:50 - 57:48 OUTRO


STOOBIE AWARDS: I'm getting excited about my 11th annual Asheville Food Fan Awards, aka "The Stoobies."

May be an image of text

So far this year I have eaten at 167 different venues, from All Day Darling Cafe to Zella's Deli, and for the first time ever, the nominees, and maybe even the winners will include food and food makers from out of state! Look out, Downtown Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan! 🙂 As the year winds down, I'll try to get to as many more venues as I can, while also revisiting some contenders, and old favorites. I'll announce the nominees in 25 categories over the first three weeks of January 2024, and then announce the winners in the final week. Here are a couple of early nominees…

No photo description available.

This year I discovered THEE dankest breakfast sandwich ever at The Rhu. It’s called “The Dirty South,” and it’s a buttermilk biscuit w/ pulled pork, pimiento cheese, collards, and B&B Pickles. Wow. So fucking good, and an early contender for my Sandwich of the Year and Breakfast Item of the Year Stoobie Awards! 🔥🔥🔥

May be an image of hotdog

One day over the Summer, I ran into a fancy chef having a beer at Rankin Vault Lounge and he told me that their kimchee hot dog is pure fire. I went back the next day and got it. Chef was right! Pure fire, and an instant contender for 2023 Hot Dog of The Year! Go try it and let me know what you think!


LITTLE BEE THAI: As I often do, I stopped into Little Bee Thai on my way home from work the other night, and picked myself up some yellow curry with chicken, taters & rice, plus a couple of crab & shrimp egg rolls. Super delicious! I love this place.

No photo description available.

PS - This meal had nothing at all to do with the dreaded Chicken Curry & Seafood Scam detailed in the podcast. I promise.


MOTHER BAKERY: I was only a little hungry the other day, and went into Mother Bakery on the South Slope, where I had a very nice French style omelet, with buttered toast, and a little salad.

May be an image of baguette, poached egg, omelet and text
More pictures available on Facebook

It was perfect and delicious. I am a big fan of Mother Bakery!


SESSION CAFE: I popped into Session Cafe at Citizen Vinyl to see what’s up these days, and there’s a new food maker in the kitchen, with a new breakfast/lunch menu. I got myself two sandwiches, and enjoyed them both very much! First I ate half of the basic, yet unique, bacon & egg sandwich. It was really great, and the kind of thing I’ll be craving.

May be an image of chicken sandwich, smoked salmon and club sandwich
More pictures available on Facebook

After that, I ate half of the chipotle honey chicken sandwich and it was very tasty and satisfying! I loved it. Tangy, sweet, and easy to eat! I was stuffed, and boxed up my two halves to eat at home later! Go pay them a visit when you can. The bar also has great espresso beverages and awesome non-alcoholic drinks available.


MIYAKO HOUSE: I had a small but super tasty lunch at Miyako House, right on Patton Avenue in Downtown Asheville. I am well known for eating cooked sushi rolls, and today was no exception!

May be an image of sushi

I got the fried oyster roll, with avocado, masago, cucumber, and spicy eel sauce, and it was fantastic! It was crunchy, flavorful, warm, and had a little bit of kick. I really like this place, and I recommend it!

May be an image of sushi

FOOD TOURS DECEMBER SPECIAL: Readers of this newsletter can now get 10% off of my Food Fan Food Tours through Asheville Food Tours in December! Food tours are super fun, and include food and drinks at 5 - 7 stops, that equal a meal or more for the average eater! I lead my Food Fan tours every Sunday, Tuesday, and Wednesday afternoon. To book your tickets, just go to AshevilleFoodTours.com/buy-tickets find the Food Fan tour that you want to take, and go through the usual purchasing process, applying the code FFDEC1023 to redeem your discount!

Buy Tickets Now

May be an image of 4 people and sushi

Treat yourself to a food tour of downtown Asheville. I hope to see you soon!


— end —

0 Comments
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food