Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Episode 141: Be Nice, Make Sauce, Eat Things
0:00
-51:38

Episode 141: Be Nice, Make Sauce, Eat Things

Plus: A New Segment / A New Song

The podcast above features me and Chef Tom LaFauci from Twisted Laurel Downtown Asheville jus’ talkin’ ‘bout food and savin’ the world and stuff like that…

Podcast Contents

00:00 - 05:19 INTRO - Gettin’ Busy in Downtown Asheville
05:20 - 23:40 YDGBADAI - Be Nice Y’all, Even if You Didn’t Like Something
23:41 - 24:26 MANNA SPOT - Please Donate to MANNA Foodbank Here
24:27 - 33:23 SAUCE TALK - Chicken Stock: The Foundation of 100’s of Sauces
33:24 - 46:35 WHERE’D YA EAT? - Joey’s New York Bagels, Andale Way, Good Hot Fish, Centreville Luncheonette, Corner Kitchen, Chestnut, Tienda Los Nenes, Baabels Ice Cream, J.D.’s Meals to Go
46:36 - 51:37 THE PIZZA GUY IS HERE! Asheville Pizza South & Grush’s Cajun Dino Grill collab!


PUPUSERIA PATTY’S: Y'all... behold the "pupusa loca" from Pupuseria Patty’s Asheville! I took a trip up Patton Ave in West Asheville to the tiny but awesome Pupuseria, where we got some GIANT pupusas!

May be an image of 3 people, chow mein and text

Mine was stuffed with chicken and cheese, and it was friggin’ awesome. I ate a small portion and brought the rest home to share with my family, and everyone tore into it, so yeah, a pupusa loca is definitely a good party item.

May be an image of 1 person, gyro and burrito

Lucho on the other hand CRUSHED his, and… he ate Chef Paty’s too! She had to go put out a fire and couldn’t join us, which was unfortunate, because she’s a really fun person with a lot going on, and I was hoping to catch up a little bit. But, like I said, she has a bunch of stuff going on at all times, so I understood completely! And it didn’t look like Lucho minded one bit! LOL

May be an image of gyro and burrito

I should mention that they also came with a very nice slaw salad, pickles, and fried eggs. It was super delicious! Incredibly filling! And really unique! I ❤️ Chef Paty, and all of her creations!


LEGACY TOUR: Y'all, I've been taking myself on a nostalgic tour of what I'm calling the "legacy restaurants" of Downtown Asheville. By that I just mean restaurants that were already here when I got here 18 years ago. On Monday, I went to Mela Indian Restaurant on N. Lexington Ave., where my friend and I engorged ourselves on their buffet.

May be an image of collard greens and ossobuco

It had been a long time since I've been to Mela, and I was glad we went. The food and atmosphere remain just as I remember them! It's nice to know that some of the classic Asheville restaurants are still at it. Thanks, Mela!

I have a big list of restaurants for me Legacy Tour, but please tell me which ones you think I should visit!

Leave a comment


OLD EUROPE: I got a latte and a basic but awesome ham & cheese croissant from Old Europe Pastries the other day. I'm a big fan of this venue and I go several days a week.

May be an image of baguette, babka, coffee, cinnamon roll, turnover and tart

Thanks for being there, Old Europe! ❤️


DOWNTOWN COMMISSION: Folks, I was recently honored to be appointed to the Downtown Commission, which is a volunteer citizen's board that advises the City Council on all things related to downtown. You can ask me for more info about it if you're curious or interested, but in the meantime, being on the Commission means that I have to be downtown for meetings earlier in the morning than usual, and I'm really enjoying it! After the first meeting I went to The Med, and last time I hit up The Rhu for a biscuit sandwich made with Duke's Mayonnaise and some country ham from Benton's Bacon. It was sooooo daaaaang tastyyyyy!!!

No photo description available.

Also: Did you know that there's a scale model of what the County Courthouse was originally intended to look like inside the foyer of City Hall?

May be an image of text

It's pretty cool!


FRENCH BROAD CHOCOLATES: Chocolate ice cream from French Broad Chocolates outside in Pack Square = Awesome. I love this town.

May be an image of ice cream and gelato

ASHEVILLE FOOD TOURS: Take a food tour with me! I lead tours for Asheville Food Tours on Sundays, Tuesdays & Wednesdays, and I am available for private tours on Mondays and Thursdays!

Stu was fantastic and truly loves Asheville and the food scene. It was a great tour, even as a local that had been to these locations before. It was a completely different way to view the downtown food scene and I recommend locals to be tourists in your own backyard with Stu! Thanks for the great experience!" - Allison S.

BOOK A FOOD TOUR NOW!


— end —

0 Comments
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food