Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Episode 143: Stu is Lonesome
2
0:00
-58:00

Episode 143: Stu is Lonesome

PLUS: Brunch, Pop-ups, Fancy Dinners & Legacy Noodles
2

The podcast above features just me this time, because Chef Tom and I could not make our schedules mesh. I hope you enjoy it anyways!

Podcast Contents

00:00 - 01:35 INTRO - Solo Stu
01:36 - 17:10 SNACKS - Shrankflation and Growflation
17:11 - 17:56 MANNA SPOT - Please Donate to MANNA Foodbank Here
17:57 - 29:23 CONTROVERSY: If True, Horrible
29:24 - 38:10 WHERE’D YA EAT? - Tupelo Honey, Jack of the Wood, Times Bar, Pollen Cafe, Pon’s Thai Cuisine, Carmel’s and… Brown Cafe?
38:20 - 43:35 THE PIZZA GUY IS HERE! w/ Asheville Pizza South
43:36 - 56:06 FOOD EVENTS - AVL Food Series & Outside the Tin
56:07 - 58:00 OUTRO - Let’s Be Less Lonely Next Time!


NOODLE SHOP: The most recent stop on my Legacy Restaurant Tour was the Noodle Shop in Pack Square in downtown Asheville. They don't have a Facebook page, or an Instagram account, or even a website! But they've been around for 25 years, and they have some of the best prices in downtown Asheville. I went with my friend Henco Billy, and we both CLEANED our plates. Like, scraped them down to the atomic particles. I loved my thick egg noodle stir fried with chicken! It was insanely satisfying, and met every single expectation I had for it.

May be an image of pasta, chow mein and ramen

Yes, it was basic, and not fancy, but this food took me back to a simpler time in my life, and I found that very comforting in the moment. I can't wait to go back. 🙂


BRUNCH AT SOVEREIGN REMEDIES: Dawn & I stopped into Sovereign Remedies for a really lovely brunch. We sat upstairs, which has been redone, so that's bigger and more comfortable than ever. Dawn got salmon cakes Benedict and I got shrimp ‘n’ grits. Both were excellent!

May be an image of scotch egg, poached egg and croquette

Dawn does not like hollandaise sauce, so she asked for it on the side, and I dipped my shrimps in it! Awesome! Dawn also had a very nice low alcohol cocktail, and I had some great coffee!

May be an image of shrimp

We've loved Sovereign Remedies since it first opened and we still do! It was a perfect Saturday morning in Downtown Asheville, WNC!


MERA BROTHERS OYSTER POP-UP AT BOTANIST & BARREL: Botanist & Barrel Tasting Bar + Bottle Shop Asheville recently hosted another pop-up, this time featuring Mera Brothers Oysters, LLC. I got 3 raw oysters , and 3 prepared oysters. The raw oysters were excellent, prepared oysters were fanfuckingtastic!!! Gah.

May be an image of text that says 'AY 19 ខ and ۱۹٩ Mera Oysters Brothers with Raw ( Ecuadoriar Cocktail Oysters sters Aji Sauce Homemade $2.50 sters- $30.00 $15.00 ed der with Oysters ptle Butter Compound ers $32.00 $17.00 her Bites Chips Aji $6'

The Mera Brothers deliver oysters & do pop-ups state-wide, but they told me they love Asheville, so follow them on social! And of course, follow Botanist & Barrel to keep up with all the cool stuff they’ve got going on!


POP-UP DINNER w/ CHEF BAILEY: Dawn and I were fortunate enough to attend a special pop up dinner last week, prepared by Chef Michelle Bailey, presented by Shay & Company & hosted by Devil's Foot Beverage Co.

May be an image of food

Everything was very tasty! I especially liked the shrimp, but of course the pork shoulder with gravy and taters was my favorite. So perfect and comforting! Dawn had a cocktail & I had an N/A drink. Both were great!

No photo description available.

Thanks, Chef! And thank you Shay and Devil's Foot! 🙏


JACK OF THE WOOD: Dawn & I were invited to a St. Patrick's Day-themed dinner at Jack of the Wood co-hosted by Jameson Irish Whiskey, and it was great! First course was a super tasty oyster, deep fried in risotto with creamy Swiss chard. I loved it!

No photo description available.

Next came some very nice house-cured salmon w/ dill chèvre & shaved horseradish & 1/2 of one of their famous Scotch eggs w/ Lusty Monk mustard. The main course was a super-deep, dank, delicious dish of slow cooked Guinness short ribs in mushroom gravy, served with Brussels sprouts, roasted carrots & mashed potatoes. It was sooooo goooooood! Pure comfort.

May be an image of shiitake mushrooms and ossobuco

For dessert there was a reasonably-sized piece of Guinness chocolate cake with bourbon brown butter frosting! Ooftah! I was stoofed! There was a whiskey pairing with each course, plus live Irish music & the guy from Jamison's told stories & stuff. It was a great night at another "legacy” restaurant! Jack of the Wood was the 1st restaurant I ate at when I moved to Asheville in 2005. Thanks to the Eckerts for inviting us & thanks to Chef Earl Moe, who laid out a great spread! 🙏🍀💚


ASHEVILLE FOOD TOURS: I had a group of 7 firefighters from Jacksonville, FL on one of my Asheville Food Tours a little while back, and they were awesome! They seemed to really enjoy our city, and the tour, and of course the FOOD!

May be an image of 6 people

Come take a Food Tour of Asheville with me, or with our other awesome food tour guide, Sarah Ray!

BOOK A FOOD TOUR NOW!


— end —

2 Comments
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food