Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Episode 145: A Foodie Defined
0:00
-48:03

Episode 145: A Foodie Defined

PLUS: TikTok Ban, Where'd Ya Eat & Sausage Gravy Saves the world

The podcast above features me and Chef Tom LaFauci from Twisted Laurel Downtown Asheville jus’ talkin’ ‘bout sauces and social media and where we ate…

Podcast Contents

00:00 - 06:30 INTRO: Tour Talk & High Praise for Asheville
6:31 - 13:00 CHEF TOM’S SEASONAL MENU: And The Old Standards
13:10 - 18:13 SAUCE TALK: Sausage Gravy Saves the World
18:15 - 29:53 WHERE’D YA EAT? Pie.Zaa and Joey’s Bagels, The Rankin Vault Lounge, Twisted Laurel, Bargello, Good Hot Fish, Noodle Shop, All Day Darling, Botanist & Barrel, Mera Brothers, Storm, Baba Nahm, The Madness Sushi & Burgers, Juicy Lucy’s, Loott House, Spice Witch, Sage and Spice, The Med, and Old Europe
29:54 - 30:40 MANNA SPOT: Please Donate to MANNA Foodbank.
30:41 - 44:38 WHAT IS A FOODIE? Can’t We Just Get Along?
44:39 - 48:03 OUTRO: Tik Tok Ban & Good Byes


MOTHER BAKERY: Holy moly, Y'all. There is a superstar dish happening at Mother Bakery on the South Slope. It's the most insanely delicious version of a Croque Madame I have ever had in my life.

May be an image of poached egg and egg yolk

Croque Madame, (bread, ham, eggs, Mornay sauce) is one of my all-time fave sandwiches ever, and Mother is taking it to a whole other level, by using French ham, a thicc slice of brioche, their own carbonara béchamel sauce, and a nice sprinkling of Parmesan cheese and fresh herbs. It's exquisite.

May be an image of rye bread, poached egg and egg yolk

Mother is tiny, tho, so save me a seat! 🔥🥚🍞🔥


LAUGHING SEED: I got some gluten free and vegan "chicken" and waffles from Laughing Seed Cafe. The "chicken" was tofu and it was super delicious. I like tofu. TBH tho, the GF waffles were not my jam, but I think that they'd be a fine choice for those eaters out there who are gluten intolerant.

No photo description available.

I can, and do, tolerate gluten all day every day, and I love it, but I like to try GF things every now and then, and while I did enjoy the tofu more than the waffles, I do recommend this dish to GF people. The sauces were hot honey and Buffalo, both excellent. The coffee was hot and fresh and also great.


SHANGHAI DUMPLING: I had a small dumpling fest for lunch yesterday at Shanghai Dumpling House, and loved it! I ordered steamed chicken dumplings and pork wantons in spicy sauce.

May be an image of ramen

I enjoyed both very much! The spicy sauce was particularly tasty, and I dipped my steamed chicken dumplings in it too. I've been going to Shanghai Dumpling House more often lately, and enjoying it more and more every time. I'll be back soon.

May be an image of dim sum

PS - There were 6 steamed dumplings in the basket, I accidentally ate one before taking the picture. 😬


12 BONES SOUTH: Paddy and I went to 12 Bones South the other day, and enjoyed a really tasty lunch! Paddy got pulled pork with cheese grits, slaw, and corn bread.

No photo description available.

I did something a little different. I got a "taste" of smoked turkey, and a side of mac 'n' cheese. It was delicious, and just enough food for me at the moment.

No photo description available.

Thanks, 12 Bones! I've been a long-time fan! 🙏❤️🔥


YWCA: Eliminating Racism and Empowering Woman. Hi Friends! Would you be willing to match my donation to the YWCA of Asheville? I recently attended their annual Persimmon Social, and I donated $100. I know that ain't much in the big picture, but if you are able to match me, and also donate $100, or really any amount, and then pass this message along to your friends and family, that would grow the fundraising!

DONATE TO THE AVL YWCA

The YWCA of Asheville is a great organization that does awesome work! Please donate if you can! ❤ ❤ ❤


ASHEVILLE FOOD TOURS: Come take an Asheville Food Tour with me Sunday, Tuesday & Wednesday, or with our other awesome food tour guide Sarah Ray every other day of the week!

We learned a tremendous amount about the Asheville food scene from Stu and experienced the city in a way we hadn’t seen on our own. We spoke to and learned about how chefs, including very young ones, have taken over the Asheville food scene. And even when we didn’t stop in particular spots, we got a sense of what made them special. Manicomio, for example, brought NY City style to Asheville. From the Indian dumplings to the pork tacos to the basque cheesecake, Stu made us want to stay even longer. We ate like locals guided by a real professional. Stu led the best food tour we had been on. - Elissa C.M.

BOOK A FOOD TOUR NOW!


— end —

0 Comments
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food