Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Episode 150: Brain Worms & Pizza & Unsolicited Advice
0:00
-56:14

Episode 150: Brain Worms & Pizza & Unsolicited Advice

PLUS: Biscuits & Banh Mi & Buckets of Broth

The podcast above features me and the Pizza Guy, but mostly just me, mostly just talkin’ about food, and me, and brain worms, and stuff…

Podcast Contents

00:00 - 01:09 INTRO: All Alone
01:10 - 08:25 PODCAST ANNIVERSARY: 9 Years, Off & On
08:26 - 13:34 THE PIZZA GUY IS HERE: El Gaucho
13:44 - 32:29 WHERE’D YA EAT?
32:30 - 33:15 MANNA SPOT: Please Donate to MANNA Foodbank.
33:16 - 40:51 UNSOLICITED ADVICE: Photo Editing
41:01 - 49:43 FAQ: Is It Love, or Money?
49:53 - 54:53 THE DUNNING KRUGER REPORT: Brain Worms
54:54 - 56:14 OUTRO: Good Bye!


THE RHU: Good lord, Y'all. One morning, I found myself sitting in The Rhu, listening to yacht rock, and eating one of the all-time most comforting and delicious breakfasts in WNC, and I felt like the luckiest person on Earth.

May be an image of chard and collard greens

The biscuit & gravy platter, with a scrambled egg, and braised collards with Benton's Bacon. It's incredibly satisfying. Thanks, Rhu! 🙏🔥


TALL JOHN’S: Dawn and I went to Tall John's for appetizers and drinks with our friend Tema, and wow, every bite was awesome. We got Parker house rolls, deviled eggs, garlic shramps, and mussels.

May be an image of dim sum and text

The shrimp and mussels were particularly great. I could drink a bucket of their mussel broth.

May be an image of shrimp

Service was friendly and polite, as always, and the atmosphere was bustling and lively. It's a neighborhood joint, so there were families and kids, but the kids seemed to be there for the food, just like everyone else. (And to color! Kids sure do love to color!) So they weren't running around, or playing giant jenga in the middle of the room, or being loud in any way. It was fun to be there.

May be an image of baguette

Thanks, Tall John's! We appreciate you!


MOTHER BAKERY SOUTH SLOPE: I treated myself to breakfast at Mother Bakery in the South Slope neighborhood the other day, and opted for the confit mushroom toast, which was super delicious! I included a picture of the menu so you can see what all it's composed of.

May be an image of poached egg, baguette, shiitake mushrooms and anchovies

The preserved lemon was very tangy, the mushrooms were big, mild, and tasty, and of course the bread was perfect. I was full for most of the rest of the day after this meal. Thanks, Mother! (Not to be confused with my actual mother, whom I am also thankful to.)


DOWNTOWN FOOD ADVENTURE: I took myself on a downtown food adventure the other day, and stopped at four places. First I went to session Café at Citizen Vinyl where I met a new chef who is creating amazing baked goods under the name Lost Flamingo. I got a coffee cake, a mini danish, and a twice baked croissant. They were all super yummy! I'll definitely be going back to get more pastries in the future.

May be an image of babka, turnover, tart and strawberry

Next, I stopped into Manicomio Pizza, just to say hi to my friends who work there and one of the pizza makers asked me if I wanted to try his peach, ricotta and balsamic reduction pizza, and I said yes! It was very mild and creamy and peachy and delicious. Next, I swung by Mamacita’s Taqueria, because I hadn't been there in a long time, so I ordered a Carne Asada taco, with cilantro, cabbage, and two kinds of salsa, and it was great! Exactly everything I would expect from a Carne Asada taco!

May be an image of baguette, sub sandwich and chicken sandwich

Finally, I bought a Bhan Mi sandwich at Aloha Cafe to bring home for dinner later, and just like the taco, it was everything I could have wanted or expected from a traditional style Bhan Mi! I love living in Asheville where I can go on a walk from my house to downtown and back, eating great food, and bringing great food home to eat later. 🚶🏼‍♂️🧁🌮🍕🥖


ASHEVILLE FOOD TOURS: Come take an Asheville Food Tour with me Sunday, Tuesday & Wednesday, or with our other awesome food tour guide Sarah Ray every other day of the week!

Sarah was a fantastic guide. There was so. much. food. And all of it was amazing and all local spots I'm so glad I got to try out. - Valerie H.

Great food, great choices of cuisines! Stu was excellent. Highly recommend this tour. - Michael M.

BOOK A FOOD TOUR


— end —

Discussion about this podcast

Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food