Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Episode 164: On Eating Elephants
0:00
-57:58

Episode 164: On Eating Elephants

PLUS: Horrifying Human Experiments

THE PODCAST

The podcast above features me & my co-host Chef Tom LaFauci from Twisted Laurel Downtown Asheville talking about “exotic” foods, which amounts to mostly trying to figure out how to cook an elephant. Also, Sauce Talk & Where’d Ya Eat?

00:00 - 04:44 INTRO: Jury Duty and Lunch
04:45 - 18:58 “EXOTIC” FOODS: The Hardest Part of Making Elephant Stew
18:59 - 19:38 MANNA SPOT: Please Donate to MANNA Foodbank
19:39 - 33:06 SAUCE TALK: Horrifying Human Experiments & Harissa Quiz!
33:16 - 49:38 WHERE’D YA EAT: Rankin Vault, The Roof, Quench! Wine Bistro, Contrada, & Mikasa Criolla
49:39 - 50:03 COFFEE COFFEE COFFEE: Pollen, High Five Broadway, Summit, PennyCup in The YMI
50:04 - 55:36 SMOKE SMOKE SMOKE: True Confessions & Weed Reviews
55:37 - 57:58 OUTRO: Falafel Bowls & Good Bye!


THE NEWSLETTER

THE ROOF: Dawn and I went for a walk in the RAD, culminating in a drink and snack on The Roof, which is the rooftop bar of The Radical hotel. Dawn enjoyed a Campari spritz and we shared some chilled shrimps. The weather, the summer breezes, and the views were all perfect.

May be an image of shrimp

What a gem for locals and visitors alike. I should have taken pictures of the views, sorry. Next time! 🙂


MIKASA CRIOLA: I stopped into the SWAsheville building to say hi to my good friend Chef Santiago at Mikasa Criolla Avl and he had three new empanadas that he wanted to show me.

May be an image of 1 person and food

One is a Caprese style with cheese, pesto, and sun dried tomato, one is pulled pork, and one is rotisserie chicken!

May be an image of potpie

He told me all about them, then he cut them in half, and we shared them! Super yummy.


TWISTED LAUREL: My good friend Chef Tom at Twisted Laurel Downtown Asheville has added some "bowls" to his menu. I tried the falafel and grain bowl. Very tasty! The falafels were light and crispy, with great flavor, the grains were fresh and tender, and the sauce was delish of course. Now... not gonna lie... grain bowls are not my most favorite thing to eat for lunch, so I doubt I'll get this one again for myself, but I highly recommend it for vegetarians and other people who eat bowls of grain.

May be an image of couscous

Tommy told me he's selling the shit out of them, so it seems like an instant hit with his regular custies. Go give it a try, and let me know what you think. Imma eat a burger.


QUENCH! Dawn and I recently drove to Reynolds Village to visit our friend Chef Sam Etheridge (formerly of Ambrosia fame!) at his new venture, Quench Wine Bistro Cheese Provisions! It's a lovely little shop with a few tables and a counter. There's an excellent selection of wine from Metro Wines Asheville, plus a great little menu from Chef Sam! Dawn ordered a glass of wine, and tuna tartare "nachos," and loved both!

May be an image of food

I stuck with water and ordered a big ol' bowl of comfort in the form of Beef Bourguignon.

May be an image of baguette

It was awesome. So warm, flavorful, and satisfying! Dawn and I both recommend Quench! For eaters as well as wine fans. 🍷


SKYLAND: I stopped into Skyland Cannabis Co. on Eagle Street in downtown Asheville to pick up a preroll shorty. I got a strain with THCA called "Glitterbox," it tasted great and did the trick, if you know what I mean. 😉🙃

Then I had coffee at PennyCup Coffee at the YMI and then I smoked about half of the shorty. Very nice.


NEW! ASHEVILLE CANNABIS TOURS: Asheville's Original 420 Tour! Take a tour of Asheville's downtown cannabis dispensaries with me, Stu Helm: 420 Fan! We will smoke, and walk, and talk, and visit up to 7 dispensaries where we will learn all about Asheville's bourgeoning legal weed scene!

TOURS RUN EVERY FRIDAY! 1:00pm - 3:30pm

To book tickets for the next Asheville Cannabis Tour you can either contact me directly at StuHelmAVL@gmail.com or use the booking calendar at AshevilleFoodTours.com

PRICE PER TICKET: $65.00

EVERY TOUR INCLUDES: Smokable & Edible Cannabis Products • Pre-packed Glass Pipe • Matches • Gift Bag • Small Snack • Bottle of Water • Take Home Treats • Digital Map of Downtown Asheville Cannabis Dispensaries •


— end —

Discussion about this podcast

Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food