Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Good Morning, Friends...
0:00
-20:41

Good Morning, Friends...

Food News & Fall Foods
ABOVE: Podcast - Last night I recorded the Food News with Micah Molinari, and he dropped a few surprises on me!
BELOW - Newsletter (contains adult language) - GMF, This Just In, The Recommend, Extra Sauce

GOOD MORNING, FRIENDS

How are you this morning? I’m good, thank you! It looks like another nice crisp Fall day out there. I love it! I’m staying home for lunch today, but I have dinner plans at Cultura, so I’m very much looking forward to the nice chilly walk tonight! Ahhhhh… I’ll check in with you about the dinner tomorrow!


THIS JUST IN

From our friends at UKIAH Japanese Smokehouse

###

Fall Menu Changes

“UKIAH Japanese Smokehouse has announced changes to its lunch, dinner, and cocktail menus for fall. While most of the crowd favorites will remain on the menu year-round, a few items will come and go as seasonal availability of ingredients change.

Description automatically generated with low confidenceNew under Fresh + Light is a Collard Green Caesar with parmesan and shichimi dressing. Additions in the Veggies section include Grilled Local Pumpkin with bacon-maple miso and crispy shallots and BBQ Baby Carrots with smoked tofu and Korean chili vinaigrette.

The cocktail menu has been updated to incorporate some fall favorites like apples, herbs, and pumpkin. The Homage to Bill now features an apple cordial made in-house with fresh, local Fuji apples. This cocktail, inspired by a classic Japanese highball, will always have a spot on the menu, with an updated seasonal twist. The Pumpkin Up The Jam features Laird’s Apple Brandy, Don Q Cristal, Rumchata, pumpkin spice + angostura bitters described by Ukiah Bartender Xander as a “pumpkin-style milk punch;” The Last Kotoba – Haku Vodka, Tozai Snow Maiden, green chartreuse, lime, and torched rosemary; and the Falling for You, a twist on the traditional French 75 with Bushido Way of the Warrior sake, lemon, apple butter, and topped with Cava Brut.

Photo Credit: Caitlin Doherty

A reminder that throughout the month of October, a portion of proceeds from Purple Rain, another of UKIAH’s signature cocktails, will be donated to local nonprofit Food Connection. Additionally, the restaurant is now open for lunch six days a week, Tuesday-Sunday from noon to 3pm.

Reservations for UKIAH are available via Open Table or by calling 828-470-7480.

###

Share


THE RECOMMEND

I’ve been bringing my Wednesday Night Food Tours into Zambra for a few months, and they always knock it out of the park! Last night, Chef Ryan Kline and his crew busted out this very complex and delicious Autumnal dish of roasted delicata squash, with chili, nuts, goat cheese, and micro greens… and probably 10 other things! LOL The food at Zambra is not simple, but it is fantastically tasty! Very high recommends for their current Fall menu.

The perfect combo of sweet, spicy, smooth, crunchy, hearty and delicate flavors.

Share


EXTRA SAUCE

Everyone seemed to get such a kick out of these pictures on my personal Facebook page, that I decided to share them here too.

I used to do art and graphic design professionally, and sometimes my old clients ask me to do a little something for them. Last week, I laid-out these panels for a ‘claw machine” game that Green Monkey is putting in their Lickity Spliff dispensary in MN. The owners told me they’re going to fill it with pipes, papers, delta 8 nugs, and “maybe some stoner stuffed animals.” LOL

seeing my artwork on an arcade game made me feel like I achieved a level-up of some kind!

Leave a comment


PLEASE SUBSCRIBE

Every day we see, hear, and read more and more about Facebook being horrible. It’s kinda crazy how just malignant a force it has been all over the world. I used to LOVE it, but now, let’s just say it has less appeal to me than ever. Although I may never abandon FB altogether, and I am hopeful that they will clean up their act, this newsletter is intended to be an “exit plan” of sorts. Please subscribe to my newsletter if you haven’t already. It’s FREE, unless you’d like to pay. And I promise that I won’t use it for evil purposes.

0 Comments