Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Good Morning, Friends
6
0:00
-13:08

Good Morning, Friends

Not Boring Soup
6

Good Morning, Friends

If you hadn’t guessed by now, I love Halloween. Well, I love creepy stuff all year round, I just go a little crazy for it during the month of Halloween. That’s right, I said month of Halloween. I got our decorations up right away, Dawn and I have been watching horror movies every night (Killing of a Scared Deer: YES. House (1986): NO.), and I’ve been obsessed with thoughts of death and darkness… which like I said, is an all-year thing for me. Aaanyhoo… I hope that you’re having a great Halloween so far! I’d love to hear some of your plans and suggestions for spooky food this season, please leave a comment!

Leave a comment


WHAT’S FOR LUNCH?

Yesterday I randomly had sushi from Earth Fare for lunch, because we took a road trip to TN, and I ate it on the way, so obvs, I didn’t take anyone up on their lunch suggestions at all yesterday, sorry, no cake winner. But today, same question, same deal: What’s for lunch? Leave your suggestions in the comment section, and once again, if I take you up on it, I will send you a piece of cake from Old Europe.

Leave a comment


SPOOKIEST RESTAURANTS IN ASHEVILLE

I asked my friends and F&B compatriots on Facebook for the spookiest restaurant in Asheville, and here’s some of what they had to say…

Zambra is straight up haunted and amazing! Just don’t go in the “queen” room after closing! First hand experience. 🙋🏼‍♀️” - Nancy C.P.

What happens in the Queen room after dark?” - Autumn P.

“Well, I have experienced several different moments there… but, the back rooms!!!! A small man dark shadow sitting in the corner after dark, my name being called when no one was there and the absolutely terrifying heavy weight of a hand on my shoulder to turn around and see no one, but feel cold air! You know, typical haunted shit 😬! Sorry, Peter and Adam. Shits real and should bring you more biz, I freaking love Zambra, all of it!” - Nancy C.P.

“I was sous there in like… 2015? Most of the front of house stuff talked about some creepy shit happening in the basement… for one reason or another, the specters either gave the BOH a wide berth or simply saw us as one of their own.” - Dustin I.


Strada's basement has a peaceful but dead resident and when it's not a busy restaurant filled with lights, sounds, and smells, there are several other visitors who like to pass through. It has a lot of history and some of them have some nostalgic attachment that lingers like a low-hanging cloud.” - Fallon L.M.


Chiesa in Montford. I straight up saw a full on apparition pass right by me. Looked just like the chef so I followed him in to ask about the special and no one was in there anywhere when I walked into the downstairs prep kitchen seconds after ‘he’ entered!!!!” - Lisa D.


Barleys upstairs has ghosts. There was a massacre up there around a century ago!” - Amber A.

“Barley’s is a known haunted place. One of the biggest workplace shootings happened there back in early 1900’s or even 1800’s back when it was a grain and feed store.” - Robert C.W.


“Whatever the Vincenzo’s location is now [ Polanco ] has a creepy history. During the Spanish flu outbreak it was converted morgue. Bodies stacked on bodies.” - Sundance J.

“Okay hands down ‘No further responses needed’ the space that occupied Vincenzo’s on Market St. downtown was the morgue during the [Spanish Flu]. I clean Bars and Restaurants for a living and I used to clean Vincenzos at around 4am, scariest place ever” - Chett S.

“[ I ] have seen poltergeist activity there as both Vincenzos and Polanco. Watched the vent cover fly across the restsurant just above and to the right of the hallway to the restroom.” - Stacy D.


THE RECOMMEND

that’s sassafras oil on top. it was yums.

Last night Dawn and I ate at The Admiral, where we shared an insanely good bowl of celery soup. Wha?!? Celery soup? How boring, Stu. Wehhhhhllll… If it was boring I wouldn’t have mentioned it, would I? It was divine. It was warm, and creamy, and smooth, and velvety, and just lovely as fuck. Bets part: It had lump crab meat in it, and the kitchen did not skimp. I highly recommend it. The Admiral’s menu changes a lot, so if you wanna get in on this soup, you’d better get on down.

Share


— END —

6 Comments
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food