Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Good Morning, Friends...
0:00
-14:57

Good Morning, Friends...

Pizza Fight & Pizza Daddy
ABOVE: The Podcast - I talk to Ethan Bonnell from Pizza Daddy Mobile Oven
BELOW: The Newsletter (may contain adult language) - GMF, So Many Sodas, This Just In…, over 1,000 Views!

GOOD MORNING, FRIENDS…

How are you today? I’ve been enjoying this cold weather, and I’m looking forward to the snow they are predicting (knock on wood) for Sunday! I know that a lot of you don’t like the cold, but don’t worry, it’s gonna get warmer. That you can count on. Anyhoo, I’ve got a to going on these days: Food tours, Stoobie Awards, the 2022 Pizza Fight, plus the Food Pod is still under construction and on track! I guess I’d rather be busy than bored… maybe. LOL


THE RECOMMEND

Do you like soup? I like soup. I stopped into Session Cafe at Citizen Vinyl with a tour yesterday, and they styled my patron out with an awesome grilled cheese sandwich on OWL bread, a sample of tater salad, and a side salad of greens. Then Chef Nigel asked if he could give them a sample of squash soup as well, and if I wanted some too. I said “yes, please,” to both, and daaaaang, Y’all, I’m glad I did!

You can see in the pictures above that this was a nice, thick, Fall soup, with tons of flavor and texture added. The soup itself was complex and spicy, and the fresh herbs, chives, watermelon radish, and crunchy toasted squash seeds on top made it more than interesting, and super delicious! I’m not sure how long this soup will be on the menu, their menu changes a lot, so get on down soon! And order up that grilled cheese while you’re at it!


PIZZA FIGHT 2/23

I'm working on a Pizza Fight with Shay Brown Events at The Asheville Masonic Lodge! It's going to be a quick 'n' dirty, judges' panel only, streamed event, not open to the public, although the public is encouraged to play along at home! I’m currently soliciting competitors and putting together my judges’ panel.

May be an image of pizza and text that says 'SHAY BROWN EVENTS & & STU HELM THE FOOD FAN PRESENT 2022 WNC PIZZA 16JUDGES! 12 COMPETITORS! FIGHT 24PIES! ONLY1 CANBE #1! FEBRUARY 23, 2022 ASHEVILLE MASONIC LODGE'

OUR COMPETITORS SO FAR:

The Amazing Pizza Co (2019 Pizza Fight champs) Manicomio and Tin Can Pizzeria (both past Stoobie Award winners), plus The Original Papa Nick's, Asheville Pizza South, Baba Nahm, Pizza Daddy, Del Vechio’s, Twisted Laurel Asheville, Black Bear Pizza, TravelinDough!

I will keep you posted!


2021 ASHEVILLE FOOD FAN AWARDS PART 2

Below is a just basic, no frills list of the SECOND 19 NOMINEES in the next six categories of my yearly superlatives!

TOMORROW the whole write-up with pictures and stuff will be posted to Ashvegas.

You can see the full write-up of the first round of nominees HERE.

There is at least one, possibly two more rounds of nominees, with the winners being announced at the end of January, so stay tuned, y’all!

Nominees in the MMMEEEAAATTT Category

BEST RIBS OF 2021
Doc Brown’s BBQ
Ukiah Japanese Smokehouse
12 Bones
Avenue M

BEST MEATLOAF OF 2021
Rye Knot
Bear’s Smokehouse BBQ
Storm Rhum Bar & Bistro
East Village Grill

BEST SHEPHERD'S PIE OF 2021
Pierachy
Iconic Kitchen & Drinks
Asheville Yacht Club
The Bier Garden

BEST PHILLY / CHEESE STEAK OF 2021
Ziggy’s Bakery & Deli
The Odditorium
Asheville Sandwich Company
Buxton Hall Barbecue

BURGER OF THE YEAR
The Odditorium
Twisted Laurel Downtown Asheville
The Malvern

BEST HUNKS OF MEAT OF 2021
Iconic Kitchen & Drinks
Caitlyn Farms Sustainable Beef
Twisted Laurel Downtown Asheville
Ukiah Japanese Smokehouse


— end —

0 Comments
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food