Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Good Morning, Friends!
0:00
-22:38

Good Morning, Friends!

Fancy Chocolate & Meatloaf Recommends
ABOVE: Podcast - It’s just me today, doing an exciting episode of What’d Ya Eat?
BELOW: Newsletter (may contain adult language) - GMF, Correction, Fancy Chocolates, Meatloaf Recommends, Puke Pop-Up Tonight!

GOOD MORNING, FRIENDS

Before anything else…


CORRECTION

For those of you who got the newsletter via email on Sunday, the chef at Queen’s Island Cuisine is Queenie McLeod. My apologies to the chef, and sorry for any confusion I may have caused.

photo by Queen’s Island Cuisine

FANCY CHOCOLATES

I admit that I don’t check my Instagram messages as much as I should, but when I do there’s usually something good in there. Recently I checked & saw a note from Chefs Molly & John Cook (great last name for a chef!) who run a small company called Marble & Steel Craft Chocolates. They very kindly offered to drop-off some pf their hand-crafted sweets for me & wow, they are gorgeous & delicious!

above: a beautiful assortment. below: caramel w/ pecan praline filling.

above: the signature box of 12 insanely beautiful & incredibly tasty chocolates. below: the berry panna cotta truffle was sooooo frickin’ goooood! Creamy, smooth & sweet, with a little bit of tang from the berry filling inside.

I will share more picture of the truffles as I crack them open and eat them, and in the meantime, I will suggest that these chocolates will make a wonderful gift this holiday season!

Share


THE RECOMMEND

The other day, Ashley M. asked on WAX - West Asheville Exchange

Almighty WAXholes, where’s da meatloaf at? Bonus points with mashed taters

78 comments were left, and I myself recommended the meatloaves from HomeGrown and Stony Knob Cafe, both are excellent! What intrigued me, though, was this recommendation from the boss at KickbackAVL.Com, Jennie, who wrote…

If you don’t get it from Rye Knot you’ve done it wrong… it’s the best I’ve had in a while. The whole plate. Root mash with smoked meatloaf. Yep.

Jennie herself will admit that she is a picky eater. A very, very, picky eater. So when she enthuses about something, even adding “the whole plate,” I know that I’d better sit up and pay attention! A day or two later, I ordered the smoked meatloaf from Rye Knot and boy howdy, Jennie weren’t wrong! IT’S FICKIN’ GOOOOOOD! I was going to eat half for dinner and save the rest for lunch the next day, but I couldn’t stop myself and I crushed the whole thing! The whole plate, so to speak. The meatloaf was nice and smoky, not too dense, with a really nice gravy and crispy onions on top. The root mash was as described: A mash-up of various roots, including taters, turnip, and parsnips. There was also a side of very tasty zucchini, that was sautéed just right.

Like the boss said, THE WHOLE PLATE was fantastic! Double recommend for this one.

Share

Here’s the tally from Ashley’s OP comments section..

The Social got 11 recommends

The Moose Cafe beside the Farmers Market got 8 recommends

Cornerstone got 5 recommends

HomeGrown & Pack’s Tavern both got 4 recommends

Local Joint, Sunny Point Cafe, Stony Knob Cafe & Tupelo Honey all got 2 recommends

Also Mentioned: Sawhorse, Post 25, Leo’s, Mayfel’s, Carmels, Ingles, Cracker barrel, Piazza, Westside Grille, 131 Main, Doc Brown's BBQ, Moe’s BBQ, Hit the Pit, CA Diner in Weaverville.

As always, several people either recommended their own, or their momma’s meatloaf, which I always find to be the least helpful answers, and one person even questioned the whole premise! LOL

I couldn’t even imagine not making my own or having moms. Do people go out to eat and get meatloaf?” - James

Come into the world, James! People go out to eat all kindsa stuff that mommies also make! Burgers, chicken, flapjacks! It’s called a “restaurant,” and it’s wonderful! Try it! LOL Sorry, James, I couldn’t resist.

All I know is that now I gotta try that dang meatloaf at The Social! :)


PUKE POP-UP TONIGHT!

Be sure to attend Puke pop-ups at the Odditorium every Tuesday inNovember! The food has been amazing, the atmosphere at The Odditorium is totally unique, the people who work there are… Also totally unique! LOL It’s been an honor to work with them, I hope that you have a chance to go support them and this pop up, it’s been a lot of fun and there’s only a couple more left. See you there!

May be an image of text that says 'EVERYTUESDAY INNOVEMBER Stu poP-up EDDITORIUM The Helm Chef ÛHr JUKE WEST ASHEV ILLE eVery Tuesday ember 5PM- 12am burger,pepper& Barf burger$11 onionwhite gravy. Que. chicken $13 chicken,poblano, jalepeno poppers, queso blanco Eggplant -Shawn marinara basil crispy mozzarella sticks BUrrito chilli,n diVe veggies, Fritos, jalepeno &onion iceberg $10 ries,bacon, ranch *NOsubstitutions. shevilleodditoriumtickets. Prices availability subject change ONLY TWO POP POP-UPS LEFT!'

Share


— end —

0 Comments
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food