Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Good Morning, Friends...
1
0:00
-57:09

Good Morning, Friends...

Weekend Round-up
1
ABOVE: Podcast - The full, hour-long Asheville Food Fans radio show, as broadcast on WPVM 103.7fm, features my conversations with Micah Molinari from earlier in the week.
describing the size of a slice of liver mousse
BELOW: Newsletter - GMF, Where I Post, N/A Beverage Round-up, FAQ, Just a Reminder

GOOD MORNING, FRIENDS

I’m thinking about changing the name of this here newsletter / podcast, mostly because I don’t always get it published in the morning, but I can’t think of a good name. I even typed “Stu’s News” in the subject line, but then I threw-up in my mouth a little bit, and deleted it. I’ll keep thinking about it, and in the meantime, let’s just pretend it’s morning time, all the time.


WHERE I POSTED

I posted about the local food scene and occasionally other random topics in several places on the world wide web last week. If you’re a member of Facebook, you can follow me HERE.

You can also join Stu Helm: Food Fan Facebook Group, where I post questions and encourage others to post their food news and other stuff.

If you’re not on Facebook, you still see just about everything I post there on my weekly Food Feed on Ashvegas.


N/A BEVERAGE ROUND-UP

I asked the food fans on Facebook who’s got the best N/A beverages / mocktails in Asheville? Here’s what they had to say…

"The Crow & Quill does some solid NAs. Plus there is zero sunlight, so win-win." - Vaughn T

"Session cafe and Chai Pani but they aren’t as fancy as those." - Rebecca H

"Top of the Monk has made some beautiful mocktails for me. My favorite is still the lavendar lemon one C Cappah Teenie made for me at Burger Bar 🙂" - Mary Katherine M

"Golden Pineapple has some delicious NA drinks!" - Jay D

"Jay D, that (Golden Pineapple) NOGroni is lovely" - Candyce C

"Laughing Seed Cafe" - Sylvia O

"Antidote also has great mocktails" - Arlene O

"I got some yummy mocktails at Isis when I was there for a show once. And they were extremely affordable (compared to mocktails I've had elsewhere)! I'd be curious to see what Sovereign Remedies could come up with, but I've only had cocktails there." - Katie S

"The Odditorium won best mocktails in mountain xpress." - Jude D

"Copper Crown, Stu! Solid mocktail options." - Erin K

Share


WAFFLE IRON TATER TOTS

Thanks, Diane S-R, one of your fellow food fans, who suggested to me that try cooking tater-tots in my waffle iron, and I’m never turning back. It’s easy as can be: Just put some tots on a hot waffle iron and press down! Then, ta-dah! A perfect tater-tot hash brown! I put an over-easy egg & some American cheese top, with a bit of real maple syrup, and it was 100% bomb! Welcome to the Waffle-Iron-Tater-To Era!

Leave a comment


FAQ

Q: Do you get all your food for free?

A: Nope. If a restaurant invites me to come in, specifically to try their menu, or an event planner invites me to attend their ticketed dinner, or a chef asks me to come try a dish, I don't expect to be charged for those things, but most of the time, I’m just eatin’! “Uninvited,” so to speak, so I don’t expect to be comped for anything.

Whether I pay for the food, or it’s free for whatever reason, I’m most likely going be taking pictures to post online either way. If the food is good, I’ll recommend it to my 12,000+ social media followers and newsletter subscribers.

I could probably charge more than the price of a meal for that kind of promo, but I do it because it’s what I love to do!

All that being said, please don’t let me stop anyone from giving me free food! :)

If you’d like to read my full FAQ, you can do so HERE.


JUST A REMINDER

The Puke Pop-Up at The Odditorium // Puke Pop-up at The Odditorium // Is every Tuesday in November...

May be an image of text

Share


— END —

1 Comment
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food