Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Good Morning, Friends...
0:00
-15:43

Good Morning, Friends...

Pizza Fight TODAY and a chat w/ Chef Steven Goff!
ABOVE: On the Podcast - I spoke with my favorite chef, Steven Goff, about his recent purchase of Tastee Diner in West Asheville among other things!
BELOW: In the Newsletter (May Contain Adult Language) - GMF • Meet The Final Fighters • The Judges Are… • Play Along at Home

GOOD MORNING, FRIENDS…

How about that mask mandate being lifted? Personally, I’m psyched, but also willing to still wear a mask if any venue that I’m in would like me to. I have never cared much about wearing a mask, even though I do find it very physically uncomfortable, I’ve always been like, “You want me to wear a mask in here? Yeah? You got it.” Mask on. No worries, right? But, yeah, now that the mandate is lifted, I’m glad I can keep it off most of the time. Of course, I’m all vaxed-up & maxed-up, and I even think I had the ‘rona way back in January / February of 2020, so I’m not too worried about my own vulnerability (knock on wood), I just wanna follow house rules, be polite, and eat things. Speaking of eating things, tomorrow is the 2022 WNC Pizza Fight!!!


MEET THE FINAL FIGHTERS

Aaaand here are the final four competitors in the 2022 WNC Pizza Fight! It happens TODAY, Wednesday , February 23rd, and I’m super excited about it! 16 Judges, 16 Pizza Makers, 32 Pies!

Thank you Shay Brown Events and The Asheville Masonic Temple for making this fun contest happen!

May be an image of pizza and text that says 'SHAY BROWN EVENTS & STU HELM THE FOOD FAN PRESENT 2022 WNC PIZZA STU HELM THE MEAN PIES PIZZA FIGHT started out as pop-up in 2020, introducing WNC to their 12"x12" pan pizza, with a crunchy, fluffy, airy crust. "Think focaccia that chose different path." They're new town hoping for big win with the judges! ©2022ST HELM FEBRUARY 23, 2022 ASHEVILLE MASONIC LODGE'

🍕🤜 WNC PIZZA FIGHT! FEATURED FIGHTER! 🤛🍕 Mean Pies Pizza is a brand new, family run, mobile pizza maker, providing a special 12 X 12 square pie, with a crunchy-focaccia-esque crust and the freshest ingredients. I haven't personally tried this one yet, so I am really looking forward to it on February 23rd at the 2022 WNC Pizza Fight! Stay tuned!

May be an image of pizza and text that says 'SHAY BROWN EVENTS & STU HELM THE FOOD FAN PRESENT 2022 PIZZA WNC STU HELM THE FOOD FIGHT STRADA ITALIANO is not just another pizza slinger. They are fancy Italian Restaurant, with amazing food! am personally honored to have them on board again this year, as they made one of my faves last time! Good luck, Strada! ©2022STUHELM FEBRUARY 23, 2022 ASHEVILLE MASONIC LODGE'

🍕🤜 WNC PIZZA FIGHT! FEATURED FIGHTER! 🤛🍕 Y'all. How frickin' STOKED am I to have Strada Italiano on board for the 2022 WNC Pizza Fight?!? I mean, c'mon, now. They are not just your average pizza maker. Strada is a fancy restaurant, with awesome entrees, and, like, good wines and stuff! The last time the y participated, they made a KILLER specialty pie that became one of my favorites of all time. I'm excited as heck to see / taste what they come up with this year! ❤️

May be an image of pizza and text that says 'SHAY BROWN EVENTS & STU HELM THE FOOD FAN PRESENT 2022 WNC PIZZA STU HELM THE FOOD FAN FIGHT TRAVELIN' DOUGH is of4 mobile pizza makers competing the 2022 Pizza Fight! They are proud of their fresh ingredients, local produce handmade dough using flour imported from Italy! Vinceranno? Vedremo! ©2022 STU FEBRUARY 23, 2022 ASHEVILLE MASONIC LODGE'

🍕🤜 WNC PIZZA FIGHT! FEATURED FIGHTER! 🤛🍕 TravelinDough is the 4th and final mobile pizza maker competing in the 2022 WNC Pizza Fight, and yet another one that I have yet to try for myself! Their pizza looks frickin' great, and I'm excited to give it a taste on game day!
I will be the only judge who won't be doing this as a blind taste test, because I will be part of the team serving the pizza to the other judges, so I'll know who's is who's, but also, my vote won't count, so it dunn't matter!

May be an image of pizza and text that says 'SHAY BROWN EVENTS & STU HELM THE FOOD FAN PRESENT 2022 WNC PIZZA STU HELM THE FOOD FAN FIGHT TWISTED LAUREL ASHEVILLE is newcomer to the Pizza Fight & ready to show off their "Grandma's Pizza," which is square, twice cooked, & extra crispy, with chunky sauce on top of the cheese, not under! Will the judges approve? Time will tell! ©2022STU HELM FEBRUARY 23, 2022 ASHEVILLE MASONIC LODGE'

🍕🤜 WNC PIZZA FIGHT! FEATURED FIGHTER! 🤛🍕 Even though they've been around long time, and have had pizza on the menu from the beginning, Twisted Laurel Downtown Asheville is new to the Pizza Fight, competing for the first time this year! I know they make this delicious "Gandma's PIzza," which I've tried while in there with Asheville Food Tours. I don't know if they'll be serving the Grandma to the judge's, or going with their traditional round pie, or maybe gonna do round for the cheese pizza and square for the specialty pie?!? Who knows? I can't wait to find out! The 2022 WNC Pizza Fight is gonna be bangin', yo! Stay tuned for more hype, and then the live stream on the day of, and the results posted shortly thereafter! You can play along at home simply by ordering the pies form the competitors directly, eating the pies, and ranking them! Form a team if you have to, because there are 16 competitors, each submitting 2 pies, so... attsa lotta pizza!


THE JUDGES ARE…

May be an image of dog, pizza and text that says 'YEAH, I'M INTO FITNESS FITNESS WHOLE PIZZA IN MY MOUTH'

The Judges are…

Chef Eric Morris - Cultura / Funkatorium
Chef Paty Saenz - Pupuseria Paty Asheville
Chef Sam Kosik - Mother Ocean Market
Chef Steven Goff - Tastee Diner
Chef Jeremy Shurtleff - Kanuga Conference Center & Inn
Shay Brown - Shay Brown Events / Chow Chow Culinary Events
Rebecca Lynch - Chow Chow Culinary Events
C. Cappa Teenie - Burger Bar Owner
Paddy Riels - Asheville Food Tours
Stu Helm - The Food Fan
Luis Carlos Serapio - Descubre Asheville
Mariah Gunther - Friend of the Food Scene
Karis Marie - Team People with Meat Tattoos
Catherine Wright - Food Truck Wrangler
Tyler Lewis - Teenager
Cara Brunetti - Pizza Fan / Contest Winner

Every judge is allowed to bring a friend as their “back-up eater.” Friends are not there to judge, only to help eat pizza. Judges will be rating two pizzas from each pizza maker on a scale of 0 - 5 in six areas: Appearance, Crust, Cheese, Sauce, Toppings & Zhuzh.

This is a blind taste test, the judges won’t know who’s pies are who’s, and each competitor has been assigned a randomly generated number, which is the order in which their pies will be served.


PLAY ALONG AT HOME

Again, I’m sorry that the 2022 WNC Pizza Fight isn’t open to the public, but, you can play along at home by printing the ballot sheets below, and ordering pies from all of the the competitors throughout the year having, or having one hell of a pizza party! Anyone who actually makes it through all 32 pies, and documents it on Social Media will earn an automatic seat at the Judge’s table of the 2023 WNC Pizza Fight!

No photo description available.
No photo description available.

Share


— end —

0 Comments
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food