Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Good Morning, Friends...
0:00
-47:24

Good Morning, Friends...

Canned Lobster & Must-Have Foods
ABOVE: The Podcast - I do the Food News with Micah Molinari & chat with Luis Serapio from Descubre Asheville, about his Top 5 Must-Have Foods in Asheville!
BELOW: Newsletter (may contain adult language) - GMF, The Recommend, This Just in…

GOOD MORNING, FRIENDS…

So, I went away for a little over a week, visiting family in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, in Sault Ste Marie. It was great! There was seasonably cold weather, and it snowed either a little or a lot every day we were there. We ate a ton a great home-cooked meals, and ate out a couple of times as well. Shout out to Penny’s Kitchen in the Soo! We ventured into Soo, Canada, as well as the Chippewa Tribal Lands, and I tagged along while Dawn did her photography on the frozen lakeshores and wetlands. It was super fun. I love it up there. The best part was spending time with the Fam of course, especially because there’s a brand new member, only about a month old!

I’m always happy to be home, tho, so let’s talk about food…


THE RECOMMEND

The Recommend is weird this week. It’s canned lobster. I know, I know. Sounds insane. Like, “whaaaaaa thaaaaa faaaaaa? Canned lobster???” But, I am willing to try almost anything, and I’m glad I tried this canned lobster! I’m planning to make it a recurring item in my cabinet. Yes, it’s pricey. Yes. it’s fancy, but I’m fancy too, so I ate it, and I loved it, and now it’s one of my jams. I bought it at Botanist & Barrel and I warmed it up slightly before eating it on crackers with mayonnaise. The next day I used the rest, plus the buttery oily liquid contents to make an insanely delicious omelette. Canned lobster? You bet. Makes an excellent Xmas gift, BTW. (hint hint)

Yay, Canada!
Not cheap, but WTF, I bought it anyways.
Imma try it on a steak soon!
YOM!
This tasted a lot better than it looks. I was too excited to make it pretty.

THIS JUST IN…

From our good friends at Franny’s Farm

###

*PRESS RELEASE* Franny's Farm Foods an Interactive Dinner Theatre

Launch of Pasta & Prana, GF Hemp Gnocchi with Interactive Dinner Theatre and 5-course meal by Chef Jason from PLANT

Sunday, December 19th from 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Do you love Gnocchi? Traditional neo-gnocchi no more! Come be a part of Nonna’s New World, where the ingredients are characters and the evening is multi-sensory.
Join us for the official launch of Franny’s Farm Foods, highlighting Pasta & Prana’s gluten free hemp gnocchi! Enjoy an interactive Vegetarian Dinner Theatre featuring a 5-star meal with vegan main course and dessert by renowned Chef Jason of Plant.
Featuring "Nonna's New World Gnocchi" with storytelling of transformation and Italian tradition

Starring Summer Minerva as Nona, Producer Vinny Bonanno, Chef Jason of Plant and Mike Ptaszek chef, wordsmith, Yogi and creator of Pasta & Prana

Produced by A Vignette Visions

Supporting Non-Profit Utopian Seed Project

A family affair At Franny's Farm, 22 Franny's Farm Road, Leicester, NC 28748

An event venue voted “Favorite Event Farm” for the past 6 years in “Best of WNC”

On Sunday, Dec 19th from 5-8pm

Tickets $150 per person. Available at

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/interactive-dinner-theatre-nonas-new-world-gnocchi-tickets-219197855687

Contact us for more information

Tiffany at 828.505.7105 Info@FrannysFarm.com
Franny Tacy at Marketing@FrannysFarmacy.com

###


THE STOOBIES ARE COMING! THE STOOBIES ARE COMING!

I’ve already started the process of writing my annual Asheville Food Fan Awards for 2021. I know there’s a couple more weeks left of the year, so nothing is carved in stone yet!

I’ll begin publishing the nominations on Ashvegas in the first week of January 2022, and I’ll announce the winners at the end of the last week of January 2022. So, y’know, stay tuned for that.

If you’re a food maker, and you want to make sure that I try your stuff before the year is over, so that you might be considered for an award, please reach out to me via email at stuhelmavl@gmail.com. I can’t promise that I’ll be able to get to you, but I’ll try!

Share


PUKE WRAP-UP

Thanks to everyone who supported the Puke Pop-up at The Odditorium! Chef Ben Hester and his crew did 5 of them, and the food was fantastic! The Odditorium is a lotta fun, and the food is always bangin’, so even if you didn’t make it in for the Puke Po-up, be sure to stop by and grab some grub and a drink, and tell ‘em Stu sent ya!

The next Puke Pop-up is going to be at Storm Rhum Bar & Bistro, so look out!


— end —

0 Comments
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food