Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Good Morning, Friends...
0:00
-29:38

Good Morning, Friends...

Several Quick Reviews of Delicious Local Foods

GOOD MORNING, FRIENDS

Today’s podcast is comprised of 5 short reviews of specific dishes and food items that I ate recently at Rye Knot, Holeman & Finch, Buxton Hall Barbecue, Nani’s Piri Piri Chicken, and Little Chango! You can listen above, and I’ll put some words and pictures below, as well as links to see more even pictures on Facebook. You can also watch all five of these reviews as individual videos on my YouTube Channel if you’d prefer that.


RYE KNOT

Good god, Y’all. Have you tried Rye Knot yet? I ordered it for delivery through Kickbackavl (Asheville’s only locally owned hot meal delivery company!) and it was freaking amazing. I got a shaved ribeye sandwich that was sooooo tasty and perfectly cooked, I remarked about it out loud, to myself, alone in my kitchen. “Fuck yeah,” I said. Then I tasted the Cajun smoked mac and cheese with blackened shrimp, and more eff bombs tumbled forth from my mouth. The grilled asparagus and side salad were just right too, and I thoroughly enjoyed ever bite of this meal! I have a bunch left over for later, even though it was hard to stop myself from eating until I died. Rye Knot is one of the unsung heroes of our food scene, hidden off Merrimon Ave up in North Asheville. It’s a little tough for me to get to, so thanks to my Kickback driver, Fredd, and every person along the way who made this really great meal happen for me tonight. 🔥❤️🔥

May be an image of food
More pictures can be seen on Facebook by clicking HERE.

HOLEMAN & FINCH

Paddy and I hit up Holeman and Finch Asheville for brunch today, and it was excellent! I got a big ol’ waffle with house made sausage, Paddy got the shrimp n grits, and we shared the sticky toffee pudding. Paddy built his own Bloody Mary. Great stuff, Y’all!


BUXTON HALL BARBECUE

I stopped into Buxton Hall Barbecue on my way home from work yesterday, and got the brisket cheddar hoagie with tater salad and Zapp's Potato Chips, plus a slice of mixed berry pie. It was fucking awesome. As always. Buxton is so dang solid, Y’all. I’ve eaten there more than any other restaurant in Asheville and I still love it ❤️🔥❤️🔥

May be an image of food
More pictures can be seen on Facebook by clicking HERE.

I had a very lovely dinner with an oooooold high school friend and his family at Buxton Hall Barbecue last night. I had a very tasty mocktail as well as the amazing chicken Philly! Great conversation great food! I love showing this town to my friends from around the country! ❤️❤️❤️

More pictures can be seen on Facebook by clicking HERE.

Y’all… I went to Buxton Hall Barbecue and got that brisket cheesesteak… and… holy… Hell… this thing is so frickin’ good! Don’t skip it. This was my friend’s first time there, he got the pulled pork, and crushed it. ❤️❤️❤️ I love this place more and more with each passing year. ❤️❤️❤️

More pictures can be seen on Facebook by clicking HERE.

NANI’S PIRI PIRI CHICKEN

I had the chicken burger from Nani's Piri Piri Chicken for lunch… twice… last week, and it is bangin’! It’s got a tiny bit of kick to it, and it’s top quality chicken & LTP, and a really nice bun, with sauce, plus chips! Recommend. 🔥🔥🔥

May be an image of chicken sandwich
More pictures can be seen on Facebook by clicking HERE.

LITTLE CHANGO

I went to Little Chango with my friend Cactus aka Secret Agent 23 Skidoo today, where we thoroughly enjoyed our arepas! I got the flank steak Ropa Vieja, and Cactus got the pork shoulder Pernil, which matched his outfit! If you haven’t been to Little Chango, they are located on Coxe Ave, South Slope, across the street from Wicked Weed Funkatorium. They don’t seem to have a Facebook page, but their website is littlechango.com They are super-nice people, and their food is excellent! 👍🔥❤️

May be an image of 1 person
More pictures can be seen on Facebook by clicking HERE.

PUNK ROCK HOT DOGS TICKETS ON SALE NOW!

Tickets to Punk Rock Hot Dogs 2022 are on sale now, and available HERE.

1 ticket admits 2 people who share 10 hot dogs and cast 2 votes in the People's Choice.

May be an image of text that says 'stu helm the food fan & shay brown events present PUDIK PUDRROCK 2022 Asheville 10 COMPETITORS Masonic Temple 10 JUDGES PEOPLE'S Hot Dogs 80 Broadway DOWNTOWN CHOICE goth edítíon Saturday July 30th 12NOON-2PM ADVANCE TICKETS ONLY'

2022 Competitors: Mother Ocean Market Asheville, Sand Hill Kitchen, Pupuseria Paty Asheville, Storm Rhum Bar and Bistro, Bear's Smokehouse BBQ, The Odd, CREAM WORKS, Bigfoot-Longs, Asheville hot dogs, and Huli Sue's BBQ and Grill

Presented by Shay Brown Events and Stu Helm: Food Fan


— end —

0 Comments