Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Good Morning, Friends...
0:00
-22:03

Good Morning, Friends...

So Many Sodas & Drag Brunch
ABOVE: The Podcast - I talk to Melissa Hahn from Modelface Comedy, who books the Get Away by The River, The Asheville Beauty Academy, and Sovereign Remedies! We discuss what-all she’s got coming up in the next few months, including Drag Brunches!
BELOW: The Newsletter (may contain adult language) - GMF, So Many Sodas, This Just In…, over 1,000 Views!

GOOD MORNING, FRIENDS…

I hope you had a good weekend. I pretty much did. Dawn and I power-watched some TV. A crime series from Denmark called The Chestnut Man. It was confusing AF at times, but enjoyable, none the less. We also crushed season 4 of Cobra Kai. It’s the best / worst show on TV these days. When I’m not watching TV, I’ve been hammering away at the 2021 Asheville Food Fan Awards. I got the first round posted to Ashvegas on Friday, you can read them HERE, and I’m working on part 2 right now. Part 2 is titled “MMMEEEAAATTT!!!” So… y’know… gonna feature alotta meat.


SO MANY SODAS

My friend Paddy and I stopped into Rocket Fizz Candy on Battery Park Ave over the holidays, where I was happily surprised to see a friend of mine who I had not seen in over a year working behind the counter. They told me they had been thinking of me, because Rocket Fizz has a very large selection of very crazy sodas pops, and they want me to do a tasting! Bacon soda, carrot cake soda, pickle soda, mustard soda, peanut butter soda, enchilada soda, Buffalo wing soda, and on and on and on. Super crazy shit. Do I wanna do a tasting? Fuck yes. I do wanna do a tasting.

We haven’t set it all up yet, but when we do, I’ll keep you posted, and in the meantime, get yourself on into Rocket Fizz to check out their wall o’ sodas! Note: They have them all in coolers too, so you can crack open and enjoy a nice cold black olive soda right then and there!

Share


THIS JUST IN

From our good friends at Asheville Independent Restaurants

###

AIR Selects New Executive Director!

It's official! A new, but familiar face will soon take over as AIR's Executive Director.

Drum roll please.....Congratulations, Kim Murray!!

Murray, an industry vet & former AIR Board Member, will start in February. Murray’s selection concludes an executive search that began in October 2021 following current Executive Director Jane Anderson’s announcement that she would be stepping down.

Kim is the current owner of Creekside Taproom, and has also held many positions throughout the industry including Westmoreland & Scully (Corner Kitchen, Chestnut), Bone & Broth, and The Lobster Trap. Murray also served on the AIR board for eight years, during which time she served as vice president and treasurer.

While Murray will remain an owner of Creekside Taphouse, she will step away from day-to-day responsibilities to focus entirely on AIR. To ensure a smooth transition, Anderson will work with Murray through February before pursuing other opportunities in the Asheville area. 

###

Leave a comment


OVER 1,000 VIEWS!

Some of you may recall that I started this Substack newsletter as a way to make myself less dependent on Facebook, and I have some small goals that I want to achieve along the way to realizing that bigger goal. One such goal is obviously to grow my subscriber base, so if you have subscribed, thank you! If you haven’t already subscribed, please do!

Another goal is to have each of my Substack posts “reach” the same number of people or more than my posts on Facebook, and last week, I met a milestone towards that goal: A couple of my recent Substack posts were viewed over 1,000 times!

My average post “reach” on FB is around 1,500 people, and that regularly goes up to 2,400+, sometimes 5,000+ , and I’ve even had posts that reached 20,000+! So, I have a long way to go, but getting 1,000+ views on a Substack post is very good, and I’m super happy with the way it’s working out!

Thanks for reading!


— end —

0 Comments
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food