Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Good Morning, Friends...
1
0:00
-7:12

Good Morning, Friends...

A Few More Holiday Menus & Some Holiday Shopping Tips
1
ABOVE: The Podcast - I give a quick run-down of some of my fave holiday shopping spots & ideas. I also added my theme song to the podcast. It’s called Cheesewagon and it’s by a band called The Derita Sisters.
BELOW: The Newsletter (may contain adult language) - GMF, The Recommend, Last Week on Facebook & This Just In...

GOOD MORNING, FRIENDS

Hey hey! I’m a huge fan of the holiday season, so I’m so pumped-up right now, that I decided to record a little 7 minute segment about some of the places I went shopping for small food & liquor treats as stocking stuffers and advent calendar treats. No which holidays you celebrate, or if you don’t celebrate at all, I hope you have a great weekend and a Happy New Year! (I’ll def be checking in with you before then!)


THE RECOMMEND

If y’all haven’t been to Buxton Hall Chicken Palace inside the S&W Cafeteria Building, you gotta get on down. It’s fun to eat in the gorgeous & historic space, and the fried chicken sandwiches are bangin’. I have never ate at a Chick-fil-a, but all my friends who have tell me that this sandwich is just like that one, only better, and without the effed-up politics. Nice!


LAST WEEK ON FACEBOOK

Since I know that a lot of you are no longer on Facebook, and that you might not always see my Food Feed” on Ashvegas, I’ve decided to add a “Last week on Facebook” section to my newsletter from time to time. I hope you will enjoy!

Posted to Facebook on December 16, 2021

BELOW: Lunch with an old friend & a new friend at Chai Pani last week

No photo description available.

BELOW: My friend Luis from Descubre Asheville brought me two AWESOME tamales from Tortilleria Molina. These are the best tamales I’ve had since I lived in Chicago 16 years ago! Maybe the best I’ve ever had. Super high recommends. 😍😍😍

BELOW: The chicken salad at Nani's Rotisserie Chicken is phenomenal. It has a very slight curry flavor, great texture with nice chunks of high quality chicken, and the sandwich comes on a fabulous grilled soft roll. 5 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Posted to Facebook on December 18, 2021

BELOW: I had a very enjoyable lunch at Iconic Kitchen and Drinks with my mom and our friend Mike yesterday. We shared their hot pimento cheese dip, (and by “shared,” I mean crushed) and I ordered the oyster po’ boy with mac n cheese for myself, which I proceeded to stuff inside me until I was dying. This was the only meal I needed that day! 😂😂😂 Both Mike and my mom gave it the thumbs-up too, and I think it’s becoming one of my mom’s standard neighborhood joints.

May be an image of food and indoor
May be an image of food

THIS JUST IN…

From our good friends at Nani’s Rotisserie Chicken

###

Nani's Rotisserie Chicken has launched pre-orders for the Nani's Holiday Menu which includes Herbs de Provence Stuffed Chicken with Sides (meals for 4 or 8) + platters and a la carte sides. Here's a sampling of sides available:
Chestnut and Sourdough Stuffing
Heirloom Green Bean Casserole
Local Sweet Potato Casserole
Savory Corn Pudding
Sourdough Brioche Rolls
Homemade Cranberry Jam and Relish
Folks should order by the 22nd and plan to pick up on the 24th. Order form online is here (linked on our website as well), and full menu is attached.

###

From our good friends at 67 Biltmore Avenue Catering & Eatery

###

We will be taking some much needed time off over the holidays. Some of our small staff is traveling to see family and friends and some of us are hosting out of town family and friends. We appreciate your understanding!
CLOSED : Sat, Dec 25 - Wed, Dec 29
OPEN : Thur, Dec 30 & Fri, Dec 31 (11am-3pm)
CLOSED : Sat, Jan 1 - Sun, Jan 9
Be sure to stock your freezer before NYE.
We'll open back up rested, relaxed and ready to cook delicious food for you all again.


— end —

1 Comment
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food