Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Good Morning, Friends!
6
0:00
-14:22

Good Morning, Friends!

Scraping the Plate - Exclusive Content! -
6

Good Morning, Friends!

How are ya? I’m good. I’ve been eating some great food lately, including Food Tour food. You may or may not remember that Twisted Laurel Asheville won my “Restaurant of the Year” award for 2020, and their menu is just getting better and better. On Wednesday, I popped in with my Night Tour, and Chef Tom Lafauci brought out an amazing, tour-sized portion of his braised short ribs, with horseradish taters, and a coffee and red wine jus. It. Was. So. Frickin’. Tasty! Every person on the tour crushed it. Like, scrapping-the-plate-to-get-every-molecule crushed it. I had a portion for myself, and believe me, I too was scraaaaaping the plate.

Twisted Laurel Asheville has not reached a plateau of greatness, they just keep raising the bar!

The meat was cooked perfectly. It just fell apart like Grandma’s pot roast, and was very juicy and flavorful. The jus went great with the beefy flavor of the short ribs, as well as the subtly horseradished taters. The three elements combined were pure old-school make-everyone-happy gold. The pickled onions and micros added the perfect Asheville touch, and like I said, scraaaaaaaaaaaaaape. The full sized version of this dish is on the current menu, which does change from time to time, so you better get if you want it.

Share


WHAT’S FOR LUNCH

Today I have plans to hit up Ziggy’s deli with my friend Micah, so I don’t need a venue suggestion, buuuut, I do need a sandwich suggestion! If you’ve been to Ziggy’s deli, and have a fave sandwich, please suggest it in the comments, and if I take you up on your suggestion, I will send you a pice of cake from Old Europe via KickbackAVL!

Leave a comment


SNACK & SAUNTER

Dawn and I went on one of our “Snack & Saunter” outings last night, and WOW, we ate nothing but great food! A Snack & Saunter usually consists of 3 stops, where we share 1 or 2 small dishes, and Dawn has a low-alcohol cocktail or glass of wine, and I have coffee or a mocktail. Last night we started at Sovereign Remedies, where we met a friend. We ordered two dishes to split 3 ways, the spaghetti squash, and a Ceasar Salad w/ white anchovies.

I can not even express how yummy the sauce on this dish was
Nutty, crunchy, delicate, & tasty AF

The spaghetti squash is called a “wedge” on the menu, so we were not sure how much pulling-apart or wrasslin’ with it we would have to do on our own when it showed up, but it was perfectly cooked and came apart like nuthin’. Get this seasonal dish while you can!

This was a special, creative take on Caesar salad, and one of the best Ive ever had. Here’s the description, taken directly from their menu: “Frisee & Kale, red boat caesar, burnt bread, shaved parmesan, watermelon radish, white boquerones anchovy.” Super high recommends for thisCaesar if that’s your kinda thing! And of course, it went GREAT with the spaghetti squash,a nd I really enjoyed getting both on one forkful.

As is so often the case, you’d better get on down to Sovereign Remedies sooner rather than later if you want this salad. Fall is probably my favorite season for seasonal menus!

Share


PLEASE SUBSCRIBE

It’s free unless you choose to pay! Today’s newsletter contained exclusive material that has not been shared on Facebook, or anywhere else. When it comes to seasonal dishes, available for a limited time, perhaps in limited amounts, you’re gonna wanna get the scoop here on my newsletter before the rest of the town sees my Facebook posts!


— END —

6 Comments
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food