Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Good Morning, Friends...
2
0:00
-12:34

Good Morning, Friends...

Egg Hack & What'd Ya Eat?
2
ABOVE: The Podcast - I’m flying solo again with another segment of What’d Ya Eat? Featuring Manicomio, Ukiah, Carmel’s, Burgerworx, Buxton Hall, and a stollen from Annie’s.
BELOW: The Newsletter (may contain adult language) - GMF, Egg Hack

GOOD MORNING, FRIENDS

As I write this, it’s 3:30 in the afternoon, so nowhere near morning, and yet… I will continue to call this newsletter “Good Morning, Friends…” for the time being. ONE DAY, I will come up with a better name for it, like, “The Stu Helm Food News Bulletin,” or “The Hot Food Report,” or some shit like that, but for now… GOOD MORNING, FRIENDS! I only have one item in the ol’ newsletter for you today, and it’s an egg hack.


EGG HACK

Dawn got me a taiyaki press for Xmas. I had never heard of one, and had to look it up on Wikipedia, but taiyaki is basically a little fish-shaped cake, filled with red bean paste. They sound kinda hard to make, so in the meantime, I have been using the press to make the most perfect eggs ever!

This morning my list of ingredients were: 1 slice of Annie’s Bakery multi-grain bread, 1 cage free egg courtesy of Laura Lynn, 1 slice of Organic Valley American cheese, and little bit of butter.

First put a tiny amount of butter in one side of the taiyaki press, and place on your hot stovetop. As soon as the butter melts, drop an egg in, and close the press.

You can check on it during the process to see how it’s doing, and then flip the press when it’s a little bit solid on top. You can either turn the stover off right then, and have a runny egg, or leave the heat on and cook it until the yolk is solid. It’s your call.

You may or may not remember that I recently wrote about a waffle iron tater-tot hack that a reader taught me, and yes, I have been using my waffle iron for a lot more stuff since then, including… toast! It comes out perfect!

The final steps were to cut the waffled toast in half, add half a slice of American cheese, assemble my egg sandwich, and press down, releasing the hot, runny goodness of the yolk! Yom.

I sometimes put maple syrup on it, or add a shit-ton of black pepper, or some kind of hot sauce, so there’s some variety to my life, but this basic sandwich is the easiest and most delicious life hack I’ve ever come up with involving an egg!

Share

Leave a comment


— end —

2 Comments
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food