Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Episode 129: Meat & Three at Deep South Kitchen
0:00
-56:35

Episode 129: Meat & Three at Deep South Kitchen

Plus: Local Marketing and Sad Goodbyes

Podcast Contents

Talkin’ about food and local marketing with Ellen Stroud from Asheville Radio Group, as well as eatin’ meat + three with my mom and her friend Deb at a brand new, old school, diner style restaurant that Ellen suggested called Deep South Kitchen, as well as some sad good byes, unsolicited advice, and a visit from the Pizza Guy!

  1. 00:00 - 5:36 INTRO: Breaking News

  2. 5:46 - 34:56 INTERVIEW: Ellen Stroud from Asheville Radio Group

  3. 35:05 - 45:00 REVIEW: Deep South Kitchen

  4. 45:10 - 50:10 Unsolicited Advice

  5. 50:11 - 55:18 The Pizza Guy Is Here!

  6. 55:28 - 55:35 OUTRO


BYE BYE BUXTON HALL: I've been hitting up Buxton Hall Barbecue as much as I can before they close on November 22nd. I'm sure gonna miss 'em when they's gone! 😢😭😩 The other day after work, I got the brisket burger with slaw and waffle fries to go, and when I got home I found that they had thrown in some of their stellar savory corn pudding. 🥰 Everything was awesome as always!!!

May be an image of burger

And, just in case you've ever wondered why don't weight as much as a house, even though I eat so much food... I only ate, like a 1/4 of what I brought home that night, and then I ate some for lunch, then dinner the next day, and I finished off the rest for lunch again the day after that. I took a picture of what went on my plate initially, right next to what all was left in the containers.

No photo description available.
The random bowl of tomatoes in this picture just happened to be sitting on my table, and has noting to do with this meal.

So, yeah, I don't eat as much food as it sometimes looks like like I do! And I also walk a lot. I love to walk. 🙂


DEEP SOUTH KITCHEN: I recently went to lunch with my mom and one of her besties, Deb, at a brand new restaurant up on Merrimon Ave in the old Honey Baked Ham location, called Deep South Kitchen, and Boy Howdy, did we ever enjoy it! My mom got pot roast which was perfectly cooked, very flavorful and rich. She loved it, I loved it.

May be an image of steak

Deb got chicken fried steak, and was in heaven. She’s from Louisiana, and she was ecstatic about all the food. We did sharesies and Deb let me try hers and it was great! Crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. Definitely the best chicken fried steak I’ve ever had, in my admittedly limited experience with this particular southern dish.

No photo description available.

I ordered meatloaf which was moist and tasty. (I’m on a meatloaf journey these days. Make your suggestions in the comments below.) all the dishes came with three sides, and they were all exactly what we expected and wanted.

Leave a comment

May be an image of collard greens

The cornbread was caky and slightly sweet. The beans, both pinto and baked were hearty and tangy and sweet. The collards we soft and had a unique flavor that went great all mixed up with the mashed taters, gravy, and sweet peas. The Mac and cheese was smoooooth and creamy and just what I was craving.

May be an image of 1 person and collard greens

All in all, a great meal! A real people pleaser, as all three of us were stuffed and completely happy by the end. Plus we all took a bunch home for later. The portions are huge, the prices are not. The people are super nice. The atmosphere is nostalgic, and for all the old-school eaters in town, this place should be pegged right at the top of your list. Recommend. 👍


THE PIZZA GUY IS HERE! Every month, Chef Drew Peterson from Asheville Pizza South brings me his special Pizza of the Month, and no matter what crazy ideas Drew and his crew come up with, the pies are always super delicious! October was no exception. I’ll let Drew describe it for you…

May be an image of 1 person and pizza

Name: “Go Home Pizza! You're Drunk.”

Ingredients “Garlic olive oil base. Beer Brats, Onion and Jalapenos cooked in Asheville Brewing Ninja Porter. Pepperjack Beer cheese made with Asheville Brewing Fire Escape Jalapeno Pale Ale. After the oven, it gets some Sauerkraut with tomato paste and Smoked Paprika.”

May be an image of pizza

You can’t get this pizza any longer, but check out his pizza of the month for November, which is a Korean Bulgogi-inspired pie, that was frickin’ delicious.

May be an image of pizza and text

The specialty pies from Asheville Pizza South are always outstanding in every way, including the crust, which is simply some of the best, most unique crust in town. I always eat every crispy scrap! Thanks, Drew!


TAKE A FOOD TOUR WITH ME! I lead walking food tours for Asheville Food Tours three days a week, on Sundays, Tuesdays & Wednesdays from 3pm - 6:30pm, and I am available for private tours on Mondays & Thursdays. Food tours are super fun! We meet up on a central spot downtown, and visit up to 6 venues for samples of food and beverages, while checking out historic buildings, telling stories about downtown Asheville, and pretty much just having fun while eating delicious foods!

No photo description available.

Tickets to regular tours are $85.00 and can be booked and purchased HERE. Private tours are $300 for two people, $500 for four people, and $120 per person for groups of five or more. You can inquire about private tours by contacting me at stuhelmavl@gmail.com.

Learn More


— end —

0 Comments
Stu Helm: Food Fan
Stu Helm: Food Fan
This podcast is mostly about food